Skip to main content

Reading Symphony Orchestra Summer Concert

Berlioz, Brahms and Schumann

Join us for our summer evening concert at Reading Minster beginning with the lively "Beatrice et Benedict: Overture" by Hector Berlioz. This piece, inspired by Shakespeare’s "Much Ado About Nothing," sets a cheerful and energetic tone for the concert.

Our violin soloist, Charlie Lovell-Jones will perform Johannes Brahms’ Violin Concerto, Known for its technical challenges and beautiful melodies, this concerto highlights Lovell-Jones' impressive skills and musical sensitivity.

The evening concludes with Robert Schumann’s Symphony No. 4 in D minor. This symphony is admired for its continuous flow and rich orchestration, providing a fitting end to our programme.

Conductor: Cathal Garvey

Berlioz: Beatrice et Benedict: Overture
Brahms: Violin Concerto (Soloist: Charlie Lovell-Jones)
Schumann: Symphony No. 4 in D minor