Skip to main content

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra - Tchaikovsky

Classical Music Alive 23/24

Running Time: 2 hours 5 mins approx. 

Jamie Phillips, Conductor
Chlöe Hanslip, Violin

Delius | Irmelin: Prelude
Tchaikovsky | Violin Concerto
Sibelius | Symphony No.2

We are delighted to welcome violinist Chlöe Hanslip back to the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and The Hexagon, to perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D Major. A work full of fire and ferocity, both soloist and orchestra have the chance to dazzle in one of the most enduring concertos of the violin repertoire.

Sibelius thought of his Second Symphony as a great river flowing to the sea, others have heard a musical portrait of a nation waking to freedom. But from pastoral beginnings to a soul-stirring finish, it is music of elemental power, spring-like freshness and truly epic grandeur. First, though, a real rarity: the ravishing prelude to Delius’ forgotten fairytale opera Irmelin – British music doesn’t get more magical than this.

Pre-concert Talk - 6.30pm

The Hexagon Auditorium - FREE
Presented by Philip Hesketh

Book a Subscription Series

Subscribe to 3 or more concerts and save £s on full price tickets.

Subscriber - 15% off when booking 3 or more concerts.

Supersubscriber - 20% off plus a free programme for every concert - when you book for the whole season

Pre-Paid Programmes

Printed programmes will be available on the night for £2.50 but all bookers can buy in advance for only £2.

Simply add this merchandise item to your basket before checking out, and request your copy at the programme stand on the night.