Skip to main content

Brahms – Ein deutsches Requiem

Brahms’s wonderful German Requiem is an incredibly human, spiritually comforting work written not as a mass for the dead, but as consolation for the living who mourn them.  Dark and sombre passages contrast with lyrical and tender moments, and each of the seven movements ends in a spirit of optimism.  It is a joy to sing and to listen to.

Also in the programme are five beautiful motets by Heinrich Schütz, some of them setting the same texts that Brahms selected from Luther’s translation of the Bible.

Five Schütz motets:
Die mit Tränen säen
O lieber Herre Gott
Ich bin eine rufende Stimme
Wie sehr lieblich
Selig sind die Toten

Music Director: David Young
Soprano: Hilary Cronin
Baritone: Dominic Sedgwick
Orchestra: London Oratorio Players