Skip to main content

The Snow Queen

a Rabble Theatre production

4th to 24th Dec 2021

A new play written by Anna Wheatley
Based on the original story by Hans Christian Andersen 

We find ourselves in a country called Denmark, in a city called Odense in a time unspecified. It is mid-winter. A dusting of frost clutches at window panes, the crisp air nips at your nose. The city is beautiful and busy. Houses are huddled so close together that their rooftops kiss. And it is here, in the embrace of two touching rooftops, that we find our heroes.  
 
Gerda and Kai are inseparable, pals since birth, nothing can tear them apart. Until one winter's day, Kai mysteriously disappears and Gerda is forced to set out on a treacherous journey across Scandinavia to find him.  
 
Join Gerda as she sails the seas, breaks into palaces and wrestles her way out of forests to find Kai. Oh and you might learn to speak some crow along the way! 

Book now for RABBLE’s joyful family Christmas play. 

Recommended ages 8+.

Tickets

Tickets: all prices shown include booking fees
£25 Standard
£19 Concessions (including 60+, full-time students & unemployed)
£15 Under 16s

Discounts:
Preview  - Saturday 4th December: All tickets £17
Pay What you Choose - Monday 6th Dec @ 7pm: ticket price options from £7

Disabled customers are entitled to a companion free of charge. Please call the Box Office on 0118 960 6060 to book your seats.

£10 Tuesdays! - One of our many efforts to keep theatre pricing accessible to all.
All Tuesday performances:  ticket price options from £12 (£10 plus booking fee)

If you are lucky enough to be able to afford the full price, then please do go for that. It’ll help us make more tickets accessible for those who can’t.

Group (10 tickets) and School Bookings:
Group and school bookings are not available online please contact the box office team on 0118 9606 060 (Mon-Fri, 11am-2pm)

School group ticket prices: All tickets £13 (includes booking fee)

Performance schedule at a glance

Sat 4 Dec, 19.00 - Preview
Mon 6 Dec 10.30  (RESERVED for School Bookings)
Mon 6 Dec 19.00 - Pay What You Choose Opening Night
Tues 7 Dec 19.00 - £10 Tuesday (+ booking fee)
Wed 8 Dec 19.00 - PRESS Night
Thurs 9 Dec 10:30 (RESERVED for School Bookings)
Thurs 9 Dec 14.30 (RESERVED for School Bookings)
Fri 10 Dec 19.00
Sat 11 Dec 14.30 (Matinee)
Sat 11 Dec 19.00
Mon 13 Dec 10.30 (RESERVED for School Bookings)
Mon 13 Dec 14.30 (RESERVED for School Bookings)
Tues 14 Dec 19.00 - £10 Tuesday (+ booking fee)
Wed 15 Dec 19.00 (Meet the Company Q&A)
Thurs 16 Dec 14.30 (RESERVED for School Bookings)
Thurs 16 Dec 19.00 (BSL Signed Performance)
Fri 17 Dec 19.00
Sat 18 Dec 14.30 (Matinee)
Sat 18 Dec 19.00
Mon 20 Dec 10.30 (Matinee)
Mon 20 Dec 19.00
Tues 21 Dec 19.00  - £10 Tuesday (+ booking fee)
Wed 22 Dec 19.00
Thurs  23 Dec 14.30  (Matinee)
Thurs 23 Dec 19.00
Fri 24 Dec 14.30  (Matinee)

BSL Signed Performance

Thursday 16 December, 7pm. A British Sign Language interpretation (BSL) for D/deaf and hard of hearing customers. A trained describer will interpret the performers in real-time.

Meet the Company Q&A

Wednesday 15 December, 7pm. Your chance to ask the cast and production team anything you like about acting, character, soundtracks, set design, learning lines, Ice or anything else about the play.